3 Reasons why I love Youth Ministry

So I figured my first real blog post should be a little about why I do what I do. It will be short and sweet because I have a bunch of school to get done and some people have been bugging me to post something new! So here goes…

First off, I spend all my spare time doing Youth Ministry. This is what I am going to school for and this is how I plan to support my family in the future. I do this for a few reasons:

One, I feel that as a youth myself (which was not all that long ago) I was lost without a Youth Pastor. I feel that this is a position that is greatly needed but few step up to the plate. Kids need someone other than their parents to love them and care about what they have to say.

Two, God has given me many gifts and talents. These special gifts were designed for Youth Ministry. I believe that God has called me to be one of his servants and mentor to the youth. I love spending time talking and hanging out with kids, this is the major reason why I do it in my spare time. I remember when I was a kid and I wanted nothing more than an adult to spend time with me and actually care about what I was interested in. I beleive that I am really a kid at heart and this will be a huge help when it comes to connecting with youth.

Three, when you spend your time working for God and his family of beleivers, amazing doors open for you. Because of my love for Jesus Christ, I married a wonderful girl who shares my passion for Youth Ministry and I get to travel the Kentucky and New York City this year! But that is not all. Working in the ministry is a never ending adventure, you just never know where the Lord will send you next, whether it is here in Edmonton, in Africa  or maybe even Europe. We just trust God will provide for us wherever he sends us!

I love working in Youth Ministry, this blog will be a chronicle of my various adventures during the day-to-day of the job, the retreats, the mission trips and all the never ending education that I will go through.

 

5 thoughts on “3 Reasons why I love Youth Ministry

  1. yes please!! let’s hear it for people who love youth ministry. i am glad that this is your first post. what a great trajectory for a blog. i will look forward to seeing where this goes!!!

    blessings!

  2. By ‘some people’ I am pretty sure you mean your annoying big sister!! I am excited about your blog, and for God’s direction in your life!!!

Leave a Reply

